“I don’t know how to rid myself of the calluses that covers over every inch of my body from the time I held on too tightly. I still haven’t learned to let go of the things that will only leave me with permanent damage. I haven’t learned how to walk away graciously. When I can no longer hold on, and I have to face reality, the only way I know how to react is to ball up my fists and curse at the night sky until the anger swells so heavy inside my chest. I try to find peace and keep my eyes from visioning you everywhere I go. But every time I try to touch another’s soul, I feel the callous of my fingers and remind myself that there are no safe places. There is no calamity inside the soul of another person. We are all raging storms hidden behind heartbreak.”

Leave a Reply

